What’s on

Upcoming events at The Exchange, Twickenham.

Loading Events

Robert Elms with Jason Solomons

£10

Details

Date:
June 19
Time:
7:30 pm
Cost:
£10
Event Category:

David McGeachie and The Exchange present an evening with BBC Radio London’s Robert Elms, as he talks with Jason Solomons about his new book ‘London Made Us’, a personal journey – part anecdotal, part impressionistic –through London’s constantly shifting cityscape.

Jason will interview Robert then there will be an audience Q&A, followed by a book signing with books supplied by the independent shop Open Book in Richmond.

‘London is a giant kaleidoscope, which is forever turning.

Take your eye off it for more than a moment and you’re lost.’

Robert Elms has seen London change beyond all imagining: the house he grew up in is now the behemoth that is the Westway flyover, and areas once deemed murder miles have morphed into the stuff of estate agents’ dreams, seemingly in a matter of months.

In London Made Us, Elms takes us back through time and place to myriad Londons. He is our guide through a place that has seen scientific experiments conducted in subterranean lairs, a small community declare itself an independent nation and animals of varying exoticism roam free through its streets; a place his great-great-grandfather made the Elms’ home over a century ago and a city that has borne witness to epoch- and world-changing events.

London Made Us is a marvellously detailed and wonderfully evocative memoir of London trembling on the border of extinction.  Our tears and dreams are made of this.’ – Peter Ackroyd

  • Perfect for fans of Craig Taylor’s Londoners and Iain Sinclair’s London Orbital, London Made Us takes the reader on a journey back over a hundred years, revealing untold stories of both the capital and his family.
  • Robert Elms was born in West London and lived in the city for almost his entire life. He’s now well-known for his eponymous radio show on BBC Radio London, which has over 450K listeners a week.
  • The Robert Elms Show is a celebration of every aspect of the tumultuous city of London. He interviews Londoners – famous and non-famous – and every week looks at all sides of the city, be that architecture, language, music, clothes and more. He is the perfect person to write this book.

About Robert Elms

Robert Elms is a broadcaster and writer, well-loved for his eponymous radio show on BBC Radio London. Elms started out as a journalist, writing for The Face and NME. He is a Londoner through and through, growing up in West London and living in the city for most of his life.

Elms is the author of two previous works of non-fiction, The Way We Wore: A Life in Threads and Spain: A Portrait After the General, and a novel, In Search of the Crack. He lives in London with his wife and children.